Meditations of Marcus Aurelius

Updated 19-Sep-2023

This is the fourth volume in the Seven Classics on War and Politics

New Modern Edition

The Meditations by Marcus Aurelius - New Modern Edition
A new translation by Jeff Mcneill
Classics on War and Politics, Vol. 4
Copyright © 2019 by Classics Press LLC

Ebook ISBN 978-1-938412-02-8
Print ISBN 978-1-938412-23-3
Audio ISBN 978-1-938412-41-7

Marcus Aurelius was the Emperor of Rome from 161 to 180 CE, and is considered the last of the Five Good Emperors. He was a Stoic Philosopher and his work The Meditations (literally, "things to one's self") is a set of private notes and thoughts. It is considered to be one of the greatest extant works of stoic philosophy.

Each translation of The Meditations by Marcus Aurelius has taken some liberties. Words are added and some removed in order to better reach meaning and understanding. This latest translation and New Modern Edition is meant to restore some of these missing elements, and provide a clear and accurate presentation of this great classic in English.

Paperback, Ebook, Audiobook Availability

For Paperback and Ebook, The Meditations by Marcus Aurelius is available exclusively through Amazon and Kindle stores. We have not finalized an Audiobook distributor just yet.

Ebook Edition

Paperback Edition

  • Availability October 2019

Audiobook Edition

  • Availability December 2019

Short URL to this page